top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBibi Fatima Mottair

NEW TEACHER INDUCTION

“The best thing about being a teacher is that it matters. The hardest thing about being a teacher is that it matters every day” (Todd Whitaker). The fact that I will be going into the classroom in a few months’ time as a fully qualified teacher is SCARY! I did not realize how fast my four years at Varsity went by. All my training, all my learning and all my successes have finally come to me in the form that I am ready to stand in front of a classroom and TEACH.


To a certain extent I am also excited that I am moving on into a new chapter in my life and my dream is about to become a reality. My passion to teach and inspire children will be my motivation every single day. I will be doing something that I love doing.


In terms of my readiness based on the Competency scale for teachers in the MRTEQ (2015), I am sitting on a level 3 which is competent. I feel that I have a lot more to learn before I reach my level 4 which is proficiency and even more to reach my level 5 of distinguished. This does not mean it will take me another 5-10 years to reach. NO, it just means that I need to work a little more-harder as a teacher to reach these levels. WORK SMART and NOT HARD😊


Based on my personal motivation statement, my goal is to enable my learners to become bold, creative and critical thinkers that can ask any question out of curiosity and answer questions from knowledge attained. This is in alignment with the competency of knowing your learners and how they learn.


Finally, communication is the foundation to understanding be it a lesson or the learner and their challenges and strengths, never take anything for granted. My effectiveness should be reflected in the learner’s class interaction, assessments and parent-teacher meetings. It should be carried out in their personal lives where I made a difference for their betterment.

4 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page