top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureBibi Fatima Mottair

LIFE OF A TEACHER

98% of people say a teacher can change the course of a learner’s life, but people forget to mention how learners can change a teacher’s life. My two days experience of “living a teacher’s life” had made me realize my initial statement. I never felt so fantastic throughout my four years of teaching experience as I did on these two specific days. Yes, in these four years I was given classes to manage on my own, do the lesson and control substitute class but nothing is compared to be a teacher in of a class permanently. These two days was a glimpse of my near future starting in January 2020.


As I was given all the responsibilities of being a teacher some of my duties included: marking the register, collecting return slips for different events and activities and reporting to assembly and different classes during homeroom period. Things have definitely changed from when I was in school, for instance, marking the register, teacher use to call out the names of the learners and tick off in register file that got sent to the office. Whereas, now I had to ask the class to check if their partner is present and click one button on computer and BAAM!! The register is sent and done. I really enjoyed my responsibilities as a teacher it gave me a sense of belonging and that finally my hard-work is paying off and I am what I am meant to be.


Thinking about all those responsibilities made me realize that I am finally ready to be a teacher. The world is my oyster and the future of the world is in my classroom. I am however a little concern about administration work that comes into play in a teacher’s life. Each school has a different way of recording and capturing of marks, I feel that this can be a little stressful initially because I am still a newly qualified teacher will very little experience.


Drawing back from all of this experience, I can comfortably say that even though I may be ready to be a teacher, I still do have a few more things to learn. This is quite normal because I believe that very person from the learner right up to the teacher, we are all lifelong learners and who grow and develop daily!

0 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page